Golfing in the Eternal City
OUR GOLF COURSES
The National Golf Club is the official club of the Italian Golf Federation. Within its 70 hectares, the club hosts the unique and official headquarters of the National Golf School: here are trained future golf masters, Directors and Secretaries of Clubs, the Superintendents and the Greenkeepers, ie the key figures for the success of each Golf Cub.
A technical, exciting and entertaining field, it is appreciated for the way in which the undulating terrain on which it stands has been exploited, for the natural use of a ditch that crosses it in a horseshoe, for the quantity and beauty of oak trees centuries old that rise in over 70 hectares that surround the Golf Club. Designed by George and Jim Fazio and David Mezzacane, the path is located at 300 meters above sea level inserted in the suggestive natural landscape of northern Lazio, and marries the principles of ecosustainability with the green carpet consisting of a new generation bermudagrass that is well suited to the climate of the Mediterranean basin and able to overcome very harsh winters.
18 holes, mt. 6462, par 72.
The Olgiata area has existed for over 3000 years. Once home to the Etruscans who built the city of Veio in what is now Veio park, giving rise to a great civilisation, later overshadowed by the Roman Empire. Later, Olgiata’s lands became the battlefields of the great local families, the Anguillara, the Orsini, and the Chigi. In 1566, a rich family of bankers, the Olgiati, arrived in Rome from Como buying up several pieces of land, including the Olgiata from Duke Paolo Giordano Orsini, duke of Bracciano, and calling the estate “Olgiata”. In 1578, Baldassarre Olgiati decided to expand the Olgiata lands, buying the whole Cesano area in order to turn the Olgiata into a fief and thus request a noble title from the pope.Towards the end of the ’50s, this fabulous green oasis on via Cassi, just a few kilometres from Campidoglio hill, seemed ideal for a great big new golf course
The course is divided in two areas, the east course and the west course, and a total of 27 holes; it was inaugurated in 1961 and de-signed by English architect C. Kenneth Cotton. In 2012, it was almost completely redesigned by American architect Jim Fazio, to fulfil new needs; it has three set-ups: PAR 71, 72 and 73, and 7 putts for all categories.
A mansion built in the seventeenth century overlooks the crater of an extinct volcano. The residence, originally commissioned by Cardinal Flavio Chigi, is now considered the most charming club house among golf clubs; the crater, thanks to the creative flair of Robert Trent Jones Sr., has been transformed into a challenginggolf course, full of intriguing technical features. The naturally laid ground has been endowed with one hundred and one tricks among centenarian olive trees, oaks and cluster pines.
The balcony of the club house offers a fascinating and complete panorama of the course: the 18 holes can be embraced in a single look, giving the feeling of an intimate and evocative atmosphere, while four centuries of history provide protection within the walls of the club house and the seafront shines in the background.
In the charming halls as well as on the delightful garden of the terrace takes place the performance of our chef of the restaurant, whose recipes of revisited regional cuisine fulfill the gusto of every guest.
Golf features:18 holes, mt. 6222, par 73